top of page

About Guadeloupe

Guadeloupe is an archipelago of seven islands located between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean.


Its two main islands (Basse-Terre and Grande-Terre), separated by a narrow sea arm called the "Salty River", are connected by bridges and form its characteristic butterfly shape. 


The rest of the islands are: Marie Galante, La Désirade, Petite Terre and les Saintes (Terre de Haut and Terre de Bas).


It is an overseas territory belonging to France and therefore part of the European Union (but not the Schengen area).


The official language is French although its local language is Creole.


The main nucleus of islands was formerly called Karukera, which means "the island of beautiful waters", until Christopher Columbus renamed it in honor of the Virgin Santa María de Guadalupe in Extremadura (Spain). In Creole we call it Gwadloup.


Carnival is one of the most anticipated events of the year and lasts about a month and a half.


Although the nerve center is located in Pointe-à-Pitre, the capital is the city of Basse Terre.

Its cultural and historical wealth is closely linked to colonization and slavery.


The Soufrière, within the National Park, is the highest peak and it is part of a volcanic complex.


It is internationally known for the quality of its brown sugar and rum.

It has a very extensive tropical flora and fauna. The iguanas usually walk freely along the beaches, it is possible to swim with turtles, rays and sharks, and even spot dolphins, whales and sperm whales (all in their natural habitat).

Travel tips

➳ If you are a citizen of the European Union, you only need a valid passport to travel.

➳ The health pass or antigen test is not necessary.

➳ There is no compulsory vaccination.

➳ The currency is the euro.

➳ Power plug sockets are C type.


➳ Guadeloupe is located in UTC-4 time zone.

➳ The official language is French.

➳ High season is considered from December to April.

➳ The hours of sun go from 6 am to 6 pm.

bottom of page